วัดนักบุญฟรังซีสเซเวียร์ สามเสน

Friday, May 26th., Holy Gospel of Jesus Christ according to St John 21,15-19.


Friday of the Seventh week of Easter

26 May 2023

Holy Gospel of Jesus Christ

“Do you love me?” and he said to him, “Lord, you know everything;

you know that I love you.” (Jesus) said to him, “Feed my sheep”

MESSIAH stdas0080

Holy Gospel of Jesus Christ according to Saint John 21,15-19.

After Jesus had revealed himself to his disciples and eaten breakfast with them, he said to Simon Peter, “Simon, son of John, do you love me more than these?” He said to him, “Yes, Lord, you know that I love you.” He said to him, “Feed my lambs.”
He then said to him a second time, “Simon, son of John, do you love me?” He said to him, “Yes, Lord, you know that I love you.” He said to him, “Tend my sheep.”
He said to him the third time, “Simon, son of John, do you love me?” Peter was distressed that he had said to him a third time, “Do you love me?” and he said to him, “Lord, you know everything; you know that I love you.” (Jesus) said to him, “Feed my sheep.
Amen, amen, I say to you, when you were younger, you used to dress yourself and go where you wanted; but when you grow old, you will stretch out your hands, and someone else will dress you and lead you where you do not want to go.”
He said this signifying by what kind of death he would glorify God. And when he had said this, he said to him, “Follow me.”

Copyright © Confraternity of Christian Doctrine, USCCB
©Evangelizo.org 2001-2022
Image: From Bible Hub

___________________________________________

Friday of the Seventh week of Easter

26 May 2023

Commentary of the day

Saint John Chrysostom (c.345-407)

Priest at Antioch

Bishop of Constantinople, Doctor of the Church

2nd  Sermon on the inscription to the Book of the Acts of the Apostles

“Do you love me?”… “Tend my sheep”

Let us follow the manner of life of the apostles and we will be their inferiors in nothing. For it was not their miracles that made them apostles, it was the holiness of their lives. It is by this means that a disciple of Christ is recognized. The Lord himself clearly gave us this sign. When he wanted to draw a portrait of his disciples and make known the sign that marked out his apostles, he said: “This is how all will know you are my disciples” . How? By working miracles? Raising the dead? Not at all. How, then? “This is how all will know you are my disciples, if you have love for one another” (Jn 13,35).

Love is not a miracle but a work. “Love is the fulfillment of the Law” (Rm 13,10)… Therefore, have love among yourselves and you will counted among the apostles, even amongst the first of them. Do you want another proof of this teaching? See how Christ addressed Peter: “Peter, do you love me more than these?” There is nothing that enables us to win the Kingdom of heaven more than loving Christ as he deserves… What are we to do to love more than the apostles did?… Listen to Christ, the very one we are to love: “If you love me more than these, be the shepherd of my sheep”… Zeal, compassion, attentiveness are deeds, not miracles.

©Evangelizo.org 2001-2022

________________________________________________

Friday of the Seventh week of Easter

26 May 2023

Saint of the day

St. Philip Neri

PRIEST

(1515-1595) –

MEMORIAL

SAINT PHILIP NERI
Priest
(1515-1595)

        Philip was from a line of saints who consoled and blessed the Church in the sixteenth century. After a holy childhood, Philip left Florence to travel, but renounced the world and its favors to pursue a religious vocation. While receiving spiritual formation in Rome, the Holy Spirit alighted upon Philip in visible form, filling his soul with grace. He would have gone to India, but God reserved him for Rome.

        Day by day, Philip drew souls to Jesus, edifying them through mortifications, charity and cheerful devotions. Thus, under the hands of Mary, as he said, the Oratory grew up, and all Rome was pervaded and transformed by its spirit.

        Philip’s life was a continuous miracle. His habitual state of ecstasy was possible through prayer, mortifications, penance, works of mercy and the Sacraments. He read the hearts of men, foretold their future and knew their eternal destiny. His touch gave health of body: his very look calmed souls in trouble and drove away temptations. “When I met him in the street,” says one, “he would pat my cheek and say, ‘Well, how is Don Pellegrino?’ and leave me so full of joy that I could not tell which way I was going.”

        Philip inspired boundless confidence and love and was the common refuge and consoler of all. When sad or perplexed, Fabrizio de Massimi would stand at Philip’s door. He said it was enough to see him, to be near him. Others said that when he playfully pulled their hair or their ears, their hearts would bound with joy. Marcio Altieri felt such overflowing gladness in his presence that he said Philip’s room was a paradise on earth. Long after Philip’s death, it was enough for many, when troubled, to go into his room to find their hearts lightened and gladdened.

        Philip Neri passed away at 80 in 1595. He bears the title “Apostle of Rome.”

©Evangelizo.org 2001-2022

###################################

THANK YOU

National Catholic Broadcasting Council

Daily TV Mass

YouTube

For

Celebrates Daily TV Mass from Loretto Abbey in Toronto,

Ontario, Canada.

by

Fr. John Bertao

Upcoming event

Friday of the Seventh week of Easter

26 May 2023

__________________________________________________________________

ACT OF SPIRITUAL COMMUNION

My Jesus, I believe that You are present in the Blessed Sacrament.

I love You above all things and I desire You in my soul.

Since I cannot now receive You sacramentally,

Come at least spiritually into my heart.

As though You were already there,

I embrace You and unite myself wholly to You;

Permit not that I should ever be separated from You. Amen

_________________________________________

LORD, FORGIVE THE WRONG I HAVE DONE. 

____________________________________________________________

LORD HAVE MERCY

pieta-untitled
Image: Saint Francis Xavier Catholic Church, Sam Sen,  Bangkok, THAILAND.
_________________________________________

BE MERCIFUL, O LORD,  FOR WE HAVE SINNED. 

__________________________________________

FRANCIS XAVIER SAMSEN

HAPPY JESUS TO ALL 

FROM

FRANCIS XAVIER, SAMSEN

THAILAND

___________________________________________________

 

 

 

 

Comments are closed.